Hope Begins with a CASA Volunteer

Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) volunteers are ordinary people doing extraordinary work for abused, neglected and abandoned children and youth in foster care. CASA volunteers are appointed by a juvenile court judge to advocate one-on-one providing a powerful voice for a child or youth during their uncertain journey in the foster care system.

CASA of Contra Costa County will provide you with the training you need to be a successful advocate. CASA volunteers share the willingness and ability to commit two years, and 15-20 hours a month, to a child or youth to make a difference.
 

READY?

Step 1: Sign up for an Informational Session.

CASA Informational Sessions will help you understand what it means to be a CASA volunteer. Attending an Informational Session is required before submitting your application. You can sign up for an in-person Informational Session, or an online Informational Session. 

Upcoming Informational Sessions: 

IEC @DVC: 2151 Salvio St., Ste. 299, Concord
Pittsburg Chamber of Commerce, 985 Railroad Ave, Pittsburg, CA 94565

Richmond Chamber of Commerce, 3925 Macdonald Ave., Richmond, CA 94805

IN-PERSON INFORMATIONAL SESSION

or

WEBINAR

Sign up to attend   Register for a webinar below 
Thursday, May 31, 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m. at IEC   Friday, June 22, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. Register
Monday, June 4, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. at IEC   Friday, July 20, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. Register
Tuesday, June 12, 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m. at IEC   Friday, August 17, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. Register
Monday, June 18, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. at IEC                  
Monday, June 25, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. at IEC    
Thursday, June 28, 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m. at IEC    
Friday, July 6, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. at Pittsburg Chamber    
Monday, July 9, 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m. at IEC    
Friday, July 13, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. at IEC    
Saturday, July 21, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. at IEC    
Monday, July 23, 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m. at IEC    
Friday, July 27, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. at IEC    
Friday, August 3, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. at Richmond Chamber    
Monday, August 6, 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m. at IEC    
Saturday, August 18, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. at IEC    
Monday, August 20, 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m. at IEC    
Friday, August 24, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. at IEC    
Friday, August 31, 12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. at IEC    

 


SET?

Step 2: Excited to be a CASA volunteer? 

To be scheduled for an interview, submit the following:

A copy of your driver license and automobile proof-of-insurance card

  • First, scan or photograph your license and insurance card.
  • Then upload them to our secure file system, email them to us, or fax them to 925-887-6770.

Application

  • The application will require 10 - 15 minutes of uninterrupted time to complete. 
  • Applicants must also respond to our essay question as part of the application process.

References

Three references are required. References may be co-workers, friends, neighbors, or others who have known you for at least two years. 
If you are currently employed, one of your references must be your employer. If you are currently in therapy, one of your references must be your therapist. Family members or intimate partners are not acceptable references.

  • When we receive your reference list, we will send them our reference questionnaire and notify you as we receive their confidential responses. 


Step 3: You're almost there... 
You've successfully completed the interview and screening process.
The next step is Volunteer Initial Training, which consists of 40 hours of classroom training, and an observational visit to juvenile court in session.

 

GO!

Step 4: Start Advocating.
Chose a child or youth. Our case management staff will help you review cases so that you can choose a child that is a good match for you. A trusting and positive volunteer-child relationship will be the foundation of your success.